Exceptional service through safe, reliable, cost-effective electric service and programs.

For up to date outage information call the
Emergency After Hours: (866) 835-2832

2017 CVEA Annual Meetings a Success

Local community members came out in large numbers to support your electric co-op, with approximately 250 people attending the 2017 Annual Meeting in Valdez and 308 attending in Glennallen.

CEO Duhamel talked to the crowd about the effects of high customer usage on their power bill, explained how various items cause significant increases, and directed them towards a web tool that helps calculate the cost of various household items. He discussed the completion of the Allison Creek Hydroelectric Project and outlined several other accomplishments in 2016. Duhamel also announced a new tour program that will allow members to participate in scheduled tours of all CVEA power plants.

Other highlights included the announcement of the Board of Directors election results, the introduction of the 2017 Community Foundation scholarship award recipients, and recognition of employee service awards.

In Board of Director elections Mary Odden (Copper Basin) and Jeff Saxe (Valdez) were re-elected to three year terms.

Amanda Friendshuh and Jonah Coats were each awarded a $2,000 educational scholarship and Kathleen Hale was selected to represent CVEA at the Idaho Youth Rally Leadership Camp this summer.

In addition, Foundation volunteers Genia Duhamel, Cindy Unger, Sandy Johns, and Miguel Saavedra, were on hand selling Split-the-Pot tickets to raise funds for the Community Foundation. Toa Finau took home $274 in Glennallen and Jim Ehret won $295.50 in Valdez. In total $570 was raised to benefit Community Foundation programs.

Several CVEA employees were recognized for their years of service to the Cooperative. Tom Johnson, Jim Ehret, and Darin Sauls celebrated 5 years; Toni Daniels and Sharon Scheidt celebrated 10 years; Erik Brenden celebrated 20 years, and Terry Delay celebrated 25 years of service.

Over 90 door prizes were given out in each district. Nell Ulrich, of Glennallen, and Randy Holbrook, of Valdez each won a Ford F350 beater! Winners of the first ballot drawing were Logan and Suzanne Lappi and Steve and Sara Goudreau; each will receive a $100 credit on their May electric bill.

CVEA thanks everyone who attended and those that helped make this year’s events successful.
If you have questions on this or any CVEA topic, please contact Sharon Scheidt at 822-5506, 835-7005 or email scheidt@cvea.org.