

CVEA Participates in the 2015 Alaska Power Association Annual Meeting



In August, several members of the CVEA Executive Staff and Board of Directors headed to Ketchikan to participate in the Annual Meeting of the Alaska Power Association (APA), the statewide trade association that represents electric utilities in Alaska.

APA provides advocacy and program services to help member utilities in their efforts to deliver electric energy and other services at the best value to their customers. Collectively, APA-member utilities provide electric power to more than a half-million Alaskans.

CVEA's John Duhamel, Travis Million, Jaime Matthews, Board President Paul Kildal, and Directors Mary Odden and Fred Williams were all in attendance.

CVEA CEO John Duhamel was featured during a general session on hydropower policy and projects, providing the audience with an update on the Allison Creek Hydroelectric Project, and Jaime Matthews, as the Vice Chair of the APA Joint Finance and Audit Committee, presented 2014 audit results at several of the committee meetings. Finally, all of the Directors in attendance participated in the Director training sessions.

APA brought a strong program that included a Managers' Forum, utility Director training sessions, several committee meetings, and a meeting of the APA Board of Directors. General session topics included information on statewide proj-

ects and challenges, safety, training, and regulatory issues; and various House and Senate leaders were on hand to discuss electric energy issues.

According to Duhamel, "The APA Annual Meeting was particularly interesting this year. Topics included the Clean Power Plan, the new Alaska Fuel Surcharge, Trade Reports from Alaska Representatives, and many more current topics and events."

While in Ketchikan, the team also toured the shipyard, enjoyed a welcome reception cruise, and attended the awards ceremony and banquet where Labin Scott, former retired CVEA Line Superintendent, was announced the winner of the 2015 photo contest. His photo, *Ice on the Lines*, will be featured on the cover of the newest edition of the APA Directory.

According to Travis Million, "The conference was extremely worthwhile. Getting updates on statewide projects, environmental issues, and having the opportunity to network with colleagues, vendors, and government officials is extremely valuable"

Duhamel added, "one of the greatest benefits of a conference like APA is to spend time with other utilities and industry leaders; over 150 other leaders in the energy industry were in attendance."

4 OCTOBER 2015 Copper Valley Electric







Opposite, CVEA Executive Staff and Board of Directors, along with other APA Annual Meeting attendees, pose for a photo during a tour of the Ketchikan Shipyard

Photo courtesy Paul Kildal

Top, APA President Ben Frantz, of Barrow Electric, and APA Executive Director Crystal Enkvist present CVEA CEO Duhamel with the 2015 photo contest award winning photo

Photo courtey APA

Above left, CVEA Board President Paul Kildal with Director Fred Williams

Photo courtesy Paul Kildal

Above right, John Duhamel and Jaime Matthews pose for a picture with National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corporation's Governor and CEO Sheldon Petersen, and CFC representatives Marianne Dusold and Dan Kessler; in July 2015, the CVEA Board of Directors selected NRUCFC as the long-term debt provider for the Allison Creek Project

Photo courtesy Jaime Matthews

Annual APA Awards

The annual APA Awards Banquet is a time to reflect on the accomplishments of the industry's most influential and contributing people.

Three awards-the Mason LaZelle Achievement Award, the Hatcher-Williams-Turkington Employee Award, and the David P. Hutchens Public Service Award-honor the people who touch the electric industry daily in Alaska.

The 2015 Mason Lazelle
Achievement Award, the highest
honor conferred by the Alaska Power
Association membership, was presented to Cordova resident Joe Cook,
who served on the Cordova Electric
Board of Directors for nearly two
decades.

This year's David P. Hutchens Public Service Award went to Bernie Smith, a retired utility engineering analyst for the Regulatory Commission of Alaska. Bernie was recognized for his long-time commitment to electric utilities through his time as an RCA commissioner.

The Hatcher-Williams-Turkington Award recognizes employees for exemplary service to their utilities, the industry, and the local community. It is named after three former APA board members: Robert Hatcher, Fred Williams (of CVEA), and Robert Turkington. All are past recipients of the prestigious Mason LaZelle Memorial Award. This year's recipient is Sheldon Teigland, the recently retired adminstrative manager of Barrow Utilities and Electric Cooperative. Sheldon was recognized for what Ben called "four decades personifying what this award is all about."

CVEA congratulates all of the industry leaders who were recognized this year.