Copper Valley Electric Association Awards 2008 Scholarships

Copper Valley Electric Association began offering scholarships in 1991. The scholarship program was designed to assist graduating seniors with the first-year costs to attend a higher-education program which leads to a certificate or degree, through an apprenticeship program, trade, technical, or vocational school or an accredited college.

Since 1991, CVEA has provided over \$125,000 in scholarships to local students.

New this year, CVEA expanded our scholarship offerings to reach out to a broader segment of the membership.

A community college scholarship was offered to help any member attending Prince William Sound Community College in Valdez or the Copper Basin, and Idaho Youth Rally scholarships were offered to high school sophomores and juniors.

This year, CVEA awarded \$9,500 to students in our service area.

Funding of the scholarship program comes from unclaimed capital credits that have escheated back to the Cooperative. These funds are invested to provide long-term funding of educational and community support activities for the Cooperative.

Through the scholarship program, CVEA is making an investment in our youth and in our future.

Please join us in congratulating the 2008 Copper Valley Electric Association Scholarship winners.

Copper Basin Scholarship Winners



KATHERINE HANNAN \$500 General Scholarship Kenny Lake



MARK HENSPETER \$500 General Scholarship Copper Center



CHRISTOPHER VAN WYHE \$1000 Electrical Scholarship Kenny Lake



DANIEL HJORTSTORP \$1,500 Community College Scholarship Tolsona



ALEXANDER VAN WYHE Idaho Youth Rally Scholarship Kenny Lake

Valdez Scholarship Winners



HEIDI KUCHIN \$500 General Scholarship Valdez



ASHLEY TANNER \$500 General Scholarship Valdez



TRAVIS SHIELL \$1,000 Electrical Scholarship Valdez



MICHELLE BEYER \$1,500 Community College Scholarship Valdez



WILLIAM CULLEN
Idaho Youth Rally Scholarship
Valdez

CVEA would like to thank the member volunteers who serve on our scholarship selection committees. We appreciate the time and effort they give to the process.

Valdez: Aurora Meller, Brian Spear, Colleen Stephens, Dan Schally, Deanna Parsons, Dallas Rasmussen, and Dolores Gard.

Copper Basin: Dorothy Bowler, Julie Leeper, Eric Lutz, Joshua Scott, Suzanne Wilson, and Patty Pierce.

Congratulations Students!